Criminal Record Check
The Missouri State Highway Patrol’s Public Window, located at General Headquarters (GHQ) Annex Building, 1510 E. Elm Street, in Jefferson City, is permanently closed. Please see below for options in processing your background check.
Welcome to the Information Page of the Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division. The CJIS Division is responsible for compiling, maintaining and disseminating complete and accurate criminal history records, criminal incident and arrest reports, and statistics. Criminal history record information is collected by criminal justice agencies on individuals consisting of identifiable descriptions and notations of arrests, detentions, indictments, information or other formal criminal charges, and any disposition arising there from sentencing, correctional supervision, and release.
Criminal history record information is not only used by law enforcement agencies, but is also available for non-criminal justice requests. Background check requests are available in two forms: 1) A personal identifier or name-based search which searches information based on the name, date of birth, and social security number of an individual; and 2) Fingerprint search.
Processing time for personal identifier search requests and fingerprint-based search requests received by mail is approximately 4-6 weeks. For electronic fingerprint submission, please refer to the MACHS section below.
The Personal Identifier Search or also known as name-based search requires a payment of $14.00 per request. The background check results are considered a "possible match" and will include only open records. Open record information includes (1) records containing convictions, such as plead guilty to, or convicted of, (2) arrest information that is less than 30 days old from the date of arrest, (3) prosecutor filed charges awaiting final disposition from the court, and (4) records that contain a suspended imposition of sentence (SIS) during the probation period. A request for personal identifier search may be completed online through the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS) or by mail. Requests made by mail require the completion of a "Request for Criminal Record Check Form, SHP-158. This form may be obtained from the Missouri State Highway Patrol, CJIS Division, or via the Internet at: Criminal Record Check Form (SHP-158). Please note that all mail-in requests submitted on non-MSHP forms will be rejected and returned to the original sender.
A Fingerprint Based Search requires a completed applicant fingerprint card (FD-258). The state only fingerprint fee is $20.00 per request (with the exception of conceal-carry weapons permits pursuant to Section 571.101 RSMo, and the Department of Social Services for foster care placement, pursuant to Section 210.487 RSMo, which are $14.00 per request). The results of a fingerprint-based background check are considered a "positive match" and will provide closed or complete records for the requesting individual or qualified requesting entity. Closed record information includes (1) all criminal history data, including all arrests (filed or not filed charges), (2) charges that have been nolle prossed, dismissed, or found not guilty in a court of law, and (3) will include any SIS after the probation period is complete.
The associated fee is due upon submission of the request and must be made payable by check or money order to the "State of Missouri - Criminal Record System Fund." CASH IS NOT ACCEPTED. State agencies may qualify to be invoiced through SAM II. Requests from outside the United States must be paid in US dollars, and by money order only. Return postage for requests requiring other than standard return mail (Federal Express, UPS, overnight, etc.) must be paid by the requesting party.
Notarized Response - Upon request the CJIS Division can notarize the results of the personal identifier search or fingerprint based search. There is an additional $2.00 fee for this service.
The Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS)
The Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS) is Missouri's one-stop website for all criminal background check needs. This site is administered by the Missouri State Highway Patrol's Criminal Justice Information Services Division, the central repository for all Missouri criminal history files. MACHS is divided into two portals: 1) the MACHS Name Search Portal and 2: the MACHS Fingerprint Search Portal. Click HERE to access MACHS Main Page.
MACHS Name Search Portal allows any member of the public to request and receive personal identifier (name-based) criminal records checks online. The fee for each personal identifier search through MACHS is $14.00, plus a small convenience fee. The MACHS Name Search Portal accepts all major credit cards. Click HERE to access the MACHS Name Search Portal.
MACHS Fingerprint Search Portal allows any member of the public to schedule an appointment to be fingerprinted through IDEMIA, the state fingerprint services vendor, for a fingerprint-based criminal background check. IDEMIA will utilize electronic image capturing (also known as livescan) to capture an applicant's fingerprints electronically and transmit them to the MSHP for processing. IDEMIA does not receive or have access to criminal history records.
The processing time for a fingerprint-based background search is generally seven to ten business days and the results of the background check will be mailed to the qualified entity or applicant. IDEMIA's service fee is $8.50 per applicant. Therefore, a state background check using IDEMIA will cost $28.50 per applicant ($20.00 + $8.50) and a state and federal background check (for authorized entities) will cost $41.75 per applicant ($20.00 + $13.25 + $8.50). To schedule an appointment with IDEMIA or to view fingerprint locations, you may access the MACHS Fingerprint Search Portal below or call IDEMIA toll free at (844)543-9712.. Click HERE to access the MACHS Fingerprint Search Portal
For more information on IDEMIA, FAQs and to download forms and links, visit their website at: https://www.identogo.com/locations/missouri
An account set up process will be posted to the IdentoGO website. For questions on account set up please email: MOUEPAccounts@US.idemia.com or call IDEMIA’s billing department at 877-512-6962 (Choose OPTION 1)
Name Based Processing Fees
Name Based Only
Electronic Payment Services
Fingerprint Processing Fees
($14.00 for foster care and CCW Endorsements)
$13.25 ($11.25 for volunteers) (for authorized entities)
Applicants residing outside Missouri who need a fingerprint-based Missouri or Missouri and national criminal history background check (subject to authorization) performed through the Missouri State Highway Patrol may contact the local law enforcement agency in their state for fingerprint assistance. Fingerprints and personal identifying information must be completed on a FBI standardized Applicant Fingerprint Card (FD-258). Both ink and electronic fingerprint images are accepted by the Missouri State Highway Patrol; however, electronic transmission from agencies outside of Missouri is not allowed. The completed applicant fingerprint card should be mailed with appropriate fees to the Missouri State Highway Patrol, CJIS Division, at Post Office Box 9500, Jefferson City, MO 65102-9500. Processing time for applicant fingerprints cards received by mail is approximately 4-6 weeks.
Applicants may also contact IDEMIA, the Missouri contracted fingerprint vendor, for assistance at (844)543-9712.. The completed applicant fingerprint card may be mailed to IDEMIA for electronic submission to the MSHP, which may expedite the processing time. For further assistance or questions regarding submitting fingerprints to Missouri from out-of-state, please contact the MSHP CJIS Division at (573) 526-6153.
FBI CJIS Individual Record Check Request
For a fee, the FBI can provide individuals with an identity history summary. Please refer to the FBI's website at: Federal Bureau of Investigation - Criminal Justice Information Services Division - FBI Identification Record Request
Missouri Family Care Safety Registry Checks
The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services handles Missouri Family Care Safety Registry Checks. Please refer to their website at Family Care Safety Registry | Health & Senior Services (mo.gov) or by calling 866-422-6872.