An advocate is a supporter, defender, or some-
one who can intervene and mediate on someone
else’s behalf. Our officers and civilian victim advo-
cate work together to support victims of impaired
drivers. Officers will:

» Contact you after the incident to explain the
Filling a V.O.1.D. program.

* Provide support, information, and assistance
to victims and their families.

» Refer you to the appropriate agency or the
victim hotline if you have specific needs or
require further information or service.

The civilian victim advoceale &t the
hotfine can assist you by:

* Providing information and assistance
regarding the criminal justice system and
securing your rights as a crime victim.

 Providing information concerning your crash
or case status.

* Initiating contact with law enforcement and/or
the prosecuting attorney.

» Helping you to obtain copies of reports and
information.

* Finding resources and services that are
specific to your needs.

Who s eligible for services provid-
ed by the Filling & V.O.l.D. program?

Program services focus on victims of
impairment-related crashes, however, any crime
victim may call the hotline number for assistance.
Victims would include, but not be limited to, the
following:

* Someone injured by an impaired (alcohol or
drugs) driver, their family members, and their
minor children, or victims of vehicular injury,
involuntary manslaughter, homicide, and simi-
lar acts;

* Passengers in a vehicle driven by an impaired
driver;

* Children who are injured in a vehicle driven
by their impaired parent or caretaker; and

» Pedestrians or their families who have been
involved in an impairment-related crash.

To request a copy of a crash report, you must
send a request to the appropriate agency. If the
Missouri State Highway Patrol (MSHP) investigat-
ed the crash, you may contact the Traffic Records
Division or access the MSHP website for a Traffic
Crash Report Request form. The crash report is
typically available 10 days after the crash. There is
a charge for the report.

Incident #:

Treffic Reconsiruction Report

Crashes meeting specific criteria are recon-
structed. If a crash has been reconstructed, this
is indicated on the crash report. Reconstruction
reports consist of an in-depth narrative and may in-
clude a detailed diagram and photographs. There is
a cost for this report or photos; you will be notified
of the cost before it is sent. The report is typically
available a minimum of 30 days after the crash.

To request either a crash or reconstruction
report, include the incident number and specify
whether or not you want photos. Send your request
to:

MSHP Traffic Records Division
P.O. Box 568
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0568
573-526-6113 (Crash)
573-522-2591 (Reconstruction)
573-751-9921 (Fax)

Supplemental Reports

Supplemental reports generated due to the in-
cident (such as incident or alcohol influence reports
or laboratory results) may be obtained for a fee by
sending a written request to:

MSHP Custodian of Records
P.O. Box 9500
Jefferson City, MO 65102-9500
573-522-4968 (Phone)
573-751-9382 (Fax)

xiporrAnT THINGS
To Know

o Utilize the Filling a V.O.1L.D. civilian victim ad-

vocate and resources on the MSHP’s website
under the V.O.LD. link. Enlist the advocate’s
assistance to help you understand the criminal
justice process, address your concerns, and
request information. The Filling a V.O.1.D. pro-
gram is provided by the Missouri State Highway
Patrol at no charge.

Crime Victim Hotline
1-888-773-1800

* Find out what your rights are as a victim of

a crime. This information may be obtained by
contacting our hotline, website, or other victim
service agencies and advocates.

¢ Secure your rights. Send the appropriate pros-

ecuting attorney a letter to secure your rights in
order to be kept informed about your case. The
law requires your request be in writing. A Let-
ter To Secure Rights is provided on the MSHP’s
Filling a V.O.L.D. website.

» Contact the investigating officer to discuss any

questions you may have regarding the crash.

* Register for MOVANS (Missouri Victim Auto-

mated Notification System), so that you can be
informed by e-mail or phone of court dates, pa-
role hearings, and offender custody status. You
may register for the service on the Missouri Case
Net website or by calling 1-866-566-8267.

* Keep a record of all expenses related to the

case. This information may be needed for the
prosecutor to obtain restitution for you.

ApFrER THE Case

As a victim of crime, you are entitled to infor-
mation about the offender’s custody status, parole
hearings, hearing results, release to the community,
escape, and death. This information can be obtained
through MOVANS or by contacting:

Department of Corrections
Victim Services Unit
(573) 526-6516

Cragie Vicrims”
CokiPENsATION FUND

The state of Missouri established the Crime
Victims’ Compensation Fund to reimburse some
crime victims for certain financial losses.

* A claim must be filed within two years from
the incident date or discovery of the crime.

* Once a claim is filed, expenses are paid for
three years from the incident date.

* The crime must have been reported to proper
authorities.

 Financial assistance is available for medical
costs, lost wages at work, loss of support, fu-
neral costs, and counseling. Property damage
is not a recoverable expense.

The parameters of the Crime Victims’ Com-
pensation Fund are detailed in Sections 595.010
to 595.220 RSMo. The Crime Victims’ Compen-
sation Fund is a payor of last resort, and may
withhold, restrict, or deny payment based on
fund guidelines. For more information, an applica-
tion, and brochure contact:

Crime Victims’ Compensation
1-800-347-6881



to victims of DWI- and BWI-re-
lated (driving/boating while im-
paired) crashes through the Filling a
V.0.1.D. (Victims Of Impaired Driv-
ers) program. Officers and advocates
often may impact the long-term
recovery of a victim by helping them
and their families obtain assistance
from victim service providers and
other organizations during a trau-
matic time in their lives.

In Missouri, 4.6 out of every 100
traffic crashes involves drinking.
In rural areas, that statistic rises

to 6.7. These statistics may seem
insignificant — until you or some-
one you love become one. When
that happens, it becomes evident
that driving a vehicle or operating
a watercraft while impaired is a
serious and devastating crime.

The Missouri State High-
way Patrol strives to provide
service and protection to all

This brochure strives to give a
* brief overview of the services

individuals living or travel-
ing through Missouri. Those
who suffer at the hands of the
impaired driver are entitled

to receive the same service
and protection as victims of
any other crime. The Missouri

¢ offered through Filling a V.O.LD.
¢ For further information, services,
¢ support, or an educational packet,
| please contact the civilian victim
£ advocate by calling:

1-888-773-1800

State Highway Patrol is committed to Crime Victim Hotline

providing comprehensive assistance

SERVICE Y ¢ROTECTIOy

N7




